Love over Everything

Culturally I feel that motherhood started as an obligation and duty to care for your children and keep them safe and healthy to the best of the mother’s ability. Until sometime in the 20th century, women were seen primarily as dutiful wives to their husbands who would bear them children and a son above all. A mother was only a necessary vessel to continue the father’s legacy and reproduce for the good of the community. In early colonizations, mother’s did not have much control over their children and the fathers made decisions for the whole family. Mothers used to only play the role of bearing the child and did not hold much significance after that besides caring for the household.

I think in modern day however, the idea of motherhood and the responsibilities it entails is completely different from what the early settlers thought. In these days, mothers do not even need a father to have a child. Mothers can be married, single, surrogate, adopted or divorced. Mothers are meant to care for and love their children and help them succeed in the world to the best of their abilities. Mothers are the crutch for children to lean on when they are scared of monsters in the closet, are kicking and screaming outside of the kindergarten classroom, or fall on the playground and end up curled on the ground crying. Mothers “are the backbone for any child, the never ending supply of love and support. As your mother, I will always be your biggest cheerleader and support whatever endeavors you partake in.” This cultural role isn’t always fulfilled however and some mothers abandon their children, abuse them, ignore them, or resent them for various reasons. It is common for children to be raised by nannies or the father if the mother is too busy with her work or social life. In earlier times, this would have never happened and a father would have never stayed home to tend to the children while the mother worked, but now people are more accepting of the idea and it is becoming more common.

Personally, to me a mother is someone who provides constant, unconditional love and support. Through my tough times and hard experiences, my mother has been by my side through it all. A shoulder to lean on, an ear to listen to, a mouth to kiss me while she holds me in a tender embrace and tells me everything will be okay in the end. My mother always tells me, “raising you has taught me so many things that I would not trade for anything in the world.” I always tell my mother that I apologize for causing so many problems for her and wish she could have just retired and have the time and money to travel the world instead of raising me and accommodating all the trouble I bring along. She reminds me that as my mother she “will always be the one on the other end of the phone when [I] call in tears. Home will always be where my mother is. My mother will always be my biggest fan, my number one cheerleader, and my biggest support. No matter what happens in my life, no matter what wrong decisions and bad turns I make, my mother will be there to love and support me and for that I am eternally grateful and fortunate.

Leave a Reply

